Dreams of Empire

loveable indiepop band from Brighton

about us

Dreams of Empire formed in summer 2018 near the vibrant seaside city of Brighton, England.

Inspired by a lifelong love of jangly guitar bands and the eternal quest for the most heart-wrenching harmony.

With catchy reverb-drenched female vocals, thoughtful lyrics and bold guitar hooks the band concoct a refreshed take on current indie guitar music with the bliss of early 90s shoegaze.

After a clutch of singles starting with debut “Drive On”, released in December 2018, then “Skinny Dipping“, Swarm”  and “Radiation“, the band released their debut album “Nothing’s Ever Finished” on their own Duck Race Recording Co. label in September 2019.

In March 2020 the band released the single “Broken Keys” as a digital single and later as a limited edition cassette. Andrew and Jane spent the first half of 2020 (mostly in lockdown) writing and recording their second album.

Dreams of Empire was founded by Andrew Craig (instruments) and Jane Craig (vocals), who first collaborated in Luminous, a five-piece that collaborated with maverick US producer Kramer (Bongwater, Galaxie 500) who produced the band’s debut album ‘Concentrate’, released on his Kokopop label in 1994.

In late 2019 the band recruited Will Aspinal on guitar, Matt Clapson on bass and Ian Moss on drums to perform their live debut on 29 Feb at HMV Brighton.

recent posts


useful stuff